Cycle (2010)

Violoncello & Unpitched Percussion (Tambourine, Snare Drum, Tamtam, Ratchet, Bass Drum)

Text by Robert Burns

Total duration ca. 2'15" 

Seven-movement work

I. Introspective

II. Joyous

III. Meditative

IV. Acerbic

V. Lamenting

VI. Slow

VII. Introspective

Purchase this score and part from

Peter Dayton Music (ASCAP) for: $5.00

A composition for Violoncello and Unpitched Percussion, composed in the Fall of 2010 as part of a collaborative effort "Cellaboration" between the Composition and Cello studios at Vanderbilt Unviersity's Blair School of Music. This was performed March 29th by Cellist Justin Goldsmith (class of '12) and Percussionist Kevin Rilling (class of '12). The violoncello is paired with different percussion instruments in a series of atomized musical statements. 'Cycle' is both a musical and a literal descriptor of this composition as the percussionist progresses through each instrument. I hope you enjoy the performance. Text taken from the 1860 edition of Walt Whitman's Leaves of Grass.