Sonata "Los Dedicatorias" (2016)

Violin and Piano

Total duration ca. 18'30" 

Four movement work

I. Fernando y Lila

II. Vicente y Fernanda

III. Manuela y Noelle

IV. Adam y Cristina

Listen to the first movement of this work on Spotify

Listen to the second movement of this work on Spotify

Listen to the third movement of this work on Spotify

Listen to the fourth movement of this work on Spotify

Recordings from Notes to Loved Ones, Music for Strings and Piano by Navona Records

Purchase this score and part from

Peter Dayton Music (ASCAP) for: $20.00

Fernando de Szyszlo’s paintings have inspired me since 2011, generating four compositions and a lasting correspondence and friendship with the artist. After several years of contact with the esteemed Peruvian painter, I decided to accept the generous offer of hospitality extended to me, and I went down to Lima to visit the Szyszlo family. Over four days I met four generations of de Szyszlos, spending a substantial amount of time with each of the members of the family. The movements of this work each take as their musical material a transformation of the names of members of the Szyszlo family. The final movement melodizes the names of two people I met serendipitously through travel circumstances, with whom I had the pleasure of spending my final day exploring Lima. There are senses in which each movement reflects the character and some qualities of the people whose names I used: the seriousness of Fernando’s artwork, Vicente’s energetic nature and Fernanda’s grace, the beautiful love of Manuela for her daughter Noelle, and the lightning fast banter between Adam, Cristina, and myself. But, in a sense, all of the movements are dedicated to all of the people I met. I hope they appreciate the gift of this piece as I value the gift of their friendship.